TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Based on facts, human beings are not predictable, because many factors have major impacts on their decisions. The decision about making new friends is no exception. There is a controversy among different people about whether it is better to keep and cement old friendships or strike up new friendships with people. Although people can prove loyalty, by keeping in touch with old friends, it is a fact that the society always changes our friends and offers new ones. Thus, all people had better adapt themselves to the status quo offered by society to avoid being alone. Lines below shed more light on the issue put forward.

The first and foremost merit of making new friends is that, in this way, we will be able to find new friends under new conditions and groups. It is not a case that all of people around us, always stay with us. As a case in point, students in a class may change their school or neighbors may move to new apartments, thus people ought to recognize new neighbors and strike up friendships with them instead of traveling a long distance to see an old neighbor! As a result, making new friends is essential for all people to adapt to the status quo – new neighbors, new roommates, new colleagues, etc. - that society offers these to them or imposes these on them.

In addition, all people should have new experience with new friends because they open doors to friendship which help us to know old friends well, by comparing the old and new ones, recognizing positive and negative aspects of their behavior, and making a fair judgement about them. By this effective means, a person can separate the wheat from the chaff and understand to cement a friendship or spoil it. It, also, helps us to learn new positive aspects of personality from different people. For instance, if a new friend is a very responsible man, you will practice responsibility, too, and it, also, can be useful for old friends because you will be more responsible for them.

Last but not least, people can take advantages of new people. On no account is it right that an old friend has not all abilities and cannot be helpful to resolve all problems. For example, in a class, some students are good in mathematics, some in physics, etc. and you can go to them and ask them for a favor in case you have some difficulties with math or physics. As a result, the more friends you have, the more chances for being solved your problems. On the other hand, if a person starts a new friendship, he or she will be able to help more people. People would agree that their abilities are not for just old friends and special people. They wish they helped as many people as they were able.

In conclusion, by taking all into consideration, it can be wholeheartedly alleged that because society separates people from each other and creates new groups, it is important for us to practice with making new friends as many as possible. In this way, all learn to adapt themselves to the society and have comparison between new and old friends, as well as gather many useful friends. Perhaps, by leaving old friends and finding new ones, individuals could learn the concept of ‘’losing’’, which is a principle underlying all relationships.