TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends play an important role in everyone's life. In some cases, friends could even be of greater help than your family members. The issue whether it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends has become a hot issue for people all over the world. As far as I am concerned, keeping old friends is more significant than making new friends.

To begin with, old friends have a better understanding of you. They have known you for many years and have shared happinesses and sorrows in the past years with you. For you, they are

more like your family members. I have a great friend named Joy. We have become best friends since high school. She can read what I'm thinking from my facial expressions. I will turn to her for advice whenever I'm confused. In addition, she will give me warm comfort if I feel upset. I trust her and she trust me, too. Although we may work or live in different places, this precious friendship will last forever.

The next point to be mentioned is that it's not easy to make sincere new friends in the complicated working environment. Most of my good friends were made in school, where there is much love. However, people care more about themselves and their family and have little time and energy to develop close friendship with others. The most common relationship in the society is colleague. Most people have their own circles of friends at that time.

However, we can't deny the importance of making new friends. New friends mean new ways of thinking and different life experiences. By communicating with them, you can learn something different and have various kinds of pleasure.

All in all, keeping old friends is of greater importance than making new friends.