TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is very important relationship in any ones life. We are most likely to be influenced by our friends than anybody else. In childhood we frolic with them and in dotage we ramble with them. I believe that making new friends is as important as keeping old ones.

Firstly, we get exposed to new ideas when we befriend new people. For instance, when I was in high school I had local friends with whom I grew up. We had similar tastes in music and movies. We were only exposed to bollywood music and drama. We didnot know any english songs. When I joined my university, I was exposed to a whole new range of music and TV shows by my new friends there. It was then that was exposed to different genres like drama, thrillers and comedy. Previously, in high school I was used to watching family drama alone. Today I only watch thrillers. Thus, my new friends at the university played an important role in introducing me to new entertainment.

Secondly, it is difficult to be friends with people who live far. Though communication does not seem a problem with mobile phones and internet, physical distance imposes certain restrictions. After graduation my friends and I started working for companies in different cities. Although, we do communicate with each other, I can only rely on my colleagues at work for any physical help that I need. Recently, when I shifted to a new locality, I had only my new friends to thank for, who helped me move. Also when I face problems regarding work, its only my new friends who can help me as they understand the problem better. They know the circumstances I am in. Whereas college friends can not provide expedient advice as they have limited knowledge of my situation. Thus distance plays a key role in maintaining relationship. It is highly unlikely that we will be staying the same place for all our life,making new friends becomes important.

Thus, I believe one should give importance to making new friends. Each of our friends brings a new idea with her, a new philosophy, a new way of living. Making new friends exposes us to these new ideas. Because it is unlikely that we and our friends live in the same city for eternity, it is expedient to make new friends where ever we are.