Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Everybody today spends some part of their day watching television. It seems that the time that could have been spent with family and friends is taken up by TV soaps. However I do not believe that television has destroyed communication among friends and family.

Television is something we enjoy watching together as a family and it gives us a topic to discuss about. Many good shows are aired in the evening when the husband and wife have returned home from work and they can watch it together with their children. I remember watching a show with my family that aired on comedy central at 9 in the evening. At times when there were cliff hanger episodes, we used to think about all the possible outcomes that it could have. It infact was a hot topic of discussion, where everybody participated, as we all had the same information. After show or during the commercials, we use to enjoy thinking and taking about the twists and turns that the writer could have envisioned. So instead of destroying the communication, television encouraged it.

When television airs news about natural calamity in some part of the world, we are instantly reminded and concerned about our friends who live there. Recently, when there were torrential rains in the northern parts of India, the news report showed how people were standed in their own homes without food and electricity. On watching this, we instantly tried to communiacte with our friends who lived there. Luckily, their place was not severely affected. We asked them to be prepared and cautious. It made us feel closer inspite of the distance. Hence, the news on television, made us concerned about our friends and in some way was responsible for our communication.

Therefore, television has not destroyed our communication, although it may have altered it. We might be talking about different issues now after the advent of this technology, but there is no change in our inclination to express and hear.