TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, we see that traffic is problem that needs immediate attention in developing as well as developed countries. Car is the most common automobile owned by every house. By imposing restrictions on cars, we can come to a feasible solution to this problem. Hence, I believe in twenty years there is likely to be fewer cars than today.

Firstly, we have reached a culmination point, and the solution to traffic, pollution and depleting fuels all rely on decreasing the number of cars on the roads. In developing countries like India, which are densely populated, each household owns a car. There aren’t sufficient roads to allow smooth flow of traffic, resulting in time delays. It takes hours to reach a destination which would otherwise have only taken minutes had there been lesser cars. Exasperated people know a little more than to constantly honk a car before theirs, which is also suffering a similar fate. This causes noise pollution. Roads covered with cars are enshrouded by a cloud of smoke released by fuel consuming automobiles. Parking problem is also a rising issue. We have made very efficient engines that consume lesser fuel and give a better millage. New roads are being constantly laid out by the government. Yet, all this has not helped much. Therefore the only alternative left to explore is to control the number of cars. The government is already alarmed and may resort to this, seemingly drastic but promising, measure.

Secondly, technology to use car as a shared resource is underway. There are cars in the pipeline that are self driven. Upon ordering a taxi on an app, one of these cars which is free and nearby will reach you at your pickup point. This makes ownership of the car obsolete. It also addresses the problem of parking spaces. Every car is utilised to for maximum time. There are fewer cars that need to be parked. This technology is already on trial stage and has been successful so far. If implemented in metropolitan cities, we would be seeing lesser cars in twenty years. The inventor can also accommodate features of cab sharing to make this technology more fruitful.

Thus, I believe that we will be seeing fewer cars in near future. The exigent situation calls for drastic measures. Innovative thinking and technology can help us resolve the issue. People will be eager to support the measures taken as they will be economical.