The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The policy is noble in its aim to abate environmental problems caused by consumer generated wastes. However, one can be doubtful about is efficacy to reduce the negative impact on the environment.

One may believe that such a restriction will encourage citizens from generating lesser trash. However, people always find creative ways to escape impositions. Some may bury the waste in their backyard or dispose the waste in dustbins at public place when no one is watching. Some may even start a profitable business of illegal waste disposal, where they charge an amount that is used to profit but not to properly dispose the waste in a way that does not harm the environment. People who are already low on their waste generation will have little motivation from such measures. Affluent houses who generate the most amount of waste can afford to pay a little extra to get rid of it by illegal means. Thus adopting such measures will not ensure alleviation of environmental problems. Alternative methods, like awarding families who generate lesser waste will encourage them to further decrease their wastes. People can be fined, directly by the government for crossing the allowable limit of waste generation. This money collected can be used to take environment friendly measures.

This, claim disregards the type of waste generated. Waste such as papers and cans can be recycled and are less harmful to the environment. Where as, plastics some of which cannot be recycled, should be treated differently. There should be different restrictions on each of these. Simply restricting total waste will not encourage citizens to make the shift to paper products like straws, glasses and bags. The plastic cups, bags and straws are the major cause of environmental problems as plastic is non biodegradable. It will take plastic around hundred years to decompose. This plastic is cheap to manufacture and ubiquitously available and hence is prominently present in consumer products. A simple ban of plastics in many hill-stations of India, has benefitted the those cities hugely. Thus, the focus of the policy should be to reduce wastes that are non biodegradable rather than reduce all wastes.

The policy, though based on a noble initiative, needs to be revised to be more beneficial to the environment. People have always found alternative ways to get rid of wastes inspite of the restrictions. Harmful wastes like plastic can be stopped at the source, before it reaches the consumers.