TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Todays universities not only offer classes, they provide a social environment for students to grow and thrive. There are institutes that encourage sports ans social activities as much as they advocate academic exellence. I belive that the primary focus of the collages should be education and it should recieve apt financial support, before considering spending on sports and social activities.

It is important for universities to encourange studies. By equal funding for sports, universities give a clear message to the students that sports and studies are equal. However in a university which is primarily focused on acedemic programs, this would dissuade students from spending more time in the library. For example a student who is pursuing engineering, likes playing basketball, he would be distracted from his studies, if he could find the court empty at any hour and see other people playing in it.

Classes and libraries are dynamic and constantly need to be renewed. In library it is essential to have the latest journals and editions of textbooks. In classes is it essential to keep up with the current trends like projector, smart boards, laboratories and new equipments. Where as in sports one the court is built for say tennis, or bassketball, or badminton, you only need to maintain it; there are no new investments necessary. For social activities universities can build places where people can gather in small groups or large numbers. Activities like blood donation camps, teaching the kids from neighbouring slums and helping fellow juniors can be done here. Social gatherings with aluminies, or celebrating the success of fellow batchmates can also take place in open grounds designated for such activities. This does not require large percentage of funding.

Thus classes and libraries require more funding as they are paramount to any educational institute. The funds can be balanced as and when required, but it must not be mandatory to spend half the budget on sports and social activities.