Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Today we live in a world where tall buildings, smart phones, digital cameras, air travel, invitro fertilization, genetically modified seeds and “” are quotidian. Before a century all these ideas would seem crazy. And as all ludicrous ideas, these would have been criticized. Society would have thought that this buffoon can do better at writting fiction than invent. But today all this is not only possible but ubiquitous. Hence one can say that those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Take example of Elon Musk, who made sapce travel commercial. Before a decade this idea would seem absurd. But Elon had a well thought out plan. And hence he succeeded. He now aims to inventing affordable solar powered cars. He plans on first making a luxury solar powered car,that are hand crafted and only a rich few can afford. This would help him implement the idea without bearing huge losses. Then he plans to start big cars that are affordable to everyone, and then invent small cars that are economical. There are many critics for his ideas, but he will prove them wrong like he did before. It may take more time, he may find it hard to sell out a first few, but in the end he will leave a legacy that will help solve oil crisis and pollution.

When we think of great ideas, mahatma Gandhi also comes to mind. Who would have thought one could free his country from the britich rule with non-violence. There were critics a plenty for Gandhi. There were extrimist groups who never agreed with him. But eventually people so much believed in his ideas, that they protested the Britich Raj unarmed. There were grisly incidents, like the Jalianwala Bagh tragedy, where of hordes of people were shot in a conference hall, but that did not stop Gandhi from believing in his ideas. Eventually India was declared an independent nation.

Thus if one has a clear idea, he can picture it lucidly in his mind, and sedulously works to make it a reality, then there is little that critisms and doubts can do. If everybody were to abandon an idea because it was criticized, what new adventures we would take on? What new would we leave for the next generation to explore? Hence criticism and doubts are not only welcomed but encouraged, as they help make an abstract idea more concrete.