Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Universities offer diverse courses, ranging from microbiology and computer sciences, to english literature and theatre. Students get enrolled in the university choosing specific program, and are divided according to their disciplines. There are many institutes that have course structure which mandates one to take up a field of study that is disparate from the one chosen. On the other hand there are places where a student is expected to only fulfil the credits relating to her major. The latter has benefits to both the student and the teacher body.

Firstly, as students have applied in particular field of their choosing, there are lesser cases where a student is not interested in the subject. This most of the time avoids circumstances where students are indifferent and inattentive to the discourse of the lecture, which hinders the learning of the few who are enthusiastic. When students are eager and curious, there is synergy between the teacher and his pupils where both enjoy the experience.

Secondly, if duration of study for a degree is fixed, which is often the case, then the student can plumb to(the) depths of the subject and be an expert on this matter. This is better according to job perspective. For example a student of computer science can know about reproduction in plants, but that is not what he would be asked in an interview for an IT company. Rather than knowing a little of everything, it is better to be an expert at one.

Thirdly, one may argue that common knowledge is essential for survival, but this knowledge should be inculcated at the school level. For those in the university, such courses should not be mandatory for credits, although they may be encouraged to take them. Also this knowledge can be disseminated at seminars and extra lectures, without the need for it to be a well defined curriculum with exams.

For the merits of students and faculty universities should not coerce students into taking up courses in which they are not interested. After the school years, in which one has hardly any choice of pursuing a subject full time, this alternative is not refreshing but also essential.