TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people have same group of friends from childhood to old age. They are reluctant to make new friends because they maybe shy or skeptical. Others prefer to make new friends whenever life gives them a chance. They may or may not hold on to their old friends. I believe it is as important to make new friends as it is to hold on to the old ones.

Firstly, we get introduced to new ideas when we befriend new people. We enhance our view of the world when we meet different people as they have different perspective, culture and opinion. During high school I grew up with same set of friends that I had in kindergarten. Being exposed to Bollywood only, we had similar, parochial tastes in music and movies. Inspite of several english movies being played in near by movie theatre none of us ever suggested or felt the need to explore our horizons. Upon joining university, I befriended diverse group of people. Apart from their local cinema, they introduced me to mainstream english cinema. I was exhilarated to discover thrillers and science fiction genres in movies like “Exorcist” and “Back to the future”. Had I not made new friends, I would not have known about such great movies that I now thoroughly enjoy.

Secondly, as old friends may migrate to new cities, friendships may suffer. Though communication does not seem a problem these days with mobile phones and internet, physical distance imposes certain restrictions. After graduation my friends and I started working for companies in different cities. Although, we do communicate with each other, I can only rely on my colleagues at work for any physical help that I need. Recently, when I shifted to a new locality, I had only my new friends to thank for, who helped me move. Also when I face problems regarding work, its only my new friends who can help me as they understand the problem better. They know the circumstances I am in. Whereas college friends cannot provide expedient advice due to their limited knowledge of my situation. Thus, distance plays a key role in maintaining relationship. As it is highly unlikely that we will be staying the same place for all our life, making new friends becomes important.

Thus, I believe one should give importance to making new friends. Each of our friends brings a new idea with her, a new philosophy, a new way of living. Making new friends exposes us to these new ideas. Because it is unlikely that we and our friends live in the same city for eternity, it is expedient to make new friends where ever we are.