The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is true that people have a better life style when they have more free time on their hands. Increased leisure time means enhanced well-being as one can pursue their hobbies in this time instead of doing mundane work all day. But the primary purpose of technology should not be to increase the leisure time. It should have a nobler goal. The side product can be increased efficiency, but is should not be the sole purpose of it.

Firstly, more leisure time for people is not always beneficial. When machines become efficient than humans, they replace them. When one can replace his employees for machines that are more efficient, less error prone and can work more hours, he is likely to make the shift. This will lead to unemployment, especially in a world where increasing population is a concern. Previously, during the industrial revolution, skilful workers lost their daily means for this reason. Also, even if unemployment is not a problem, man can seldom wisely use the extra time he is given each day by advancements in technology. If this time is wisely used, only then does technology offer any benefits. Hence, free time does not always translate to good time.

Secondly, technology should strive for a goal that is more noble and ambitious than merely increasing efficiency. Simply accelerating the rate or decreasing the waste, which increase efficiency, leaves little room for technology to explore innovative ideas. Technology should be a tool that helps the researchers and theoreticians to measure elusive phenomena that govern the world we live in. Space and ocean explorations are the ambitious projects that technology should help. In addition, break through in technology has helped save many lives by invention of new medicines. It has alleviated pain through invention of drugs like morphine and penicillin. It has helped reduce world hunger by genetic modification of seeds that germinate into crops with enhanced yields. Such uses of technology that seem more noble and ambitious help humanity more and therefore should be the aim of advancements.

Thus, the primary goal of technology should not be to increase the leisure time in everyday life, but to help life in a greater cause. Free time does not always have the desired positive effects that one hopes for. People will be replaced by efficient machines, leaving them jobless.