TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

Parents need to prepare their children for every adversity that life can throw at them. They need to instill a right attitude in them. Children in their teenage years, preparing to enter adult life should be taught valuable lessons that would endure for a life time. Parent should encourage teens into taking up part-time jobs to give them a first hand experience of adult life.

When teens work for part time they learn the value of money. Today we see many kids using iphones, ipads and stereos. They take this gadgets for granted and do not realize the effort that their parents put in, to earn these exorbitantly priced technologies. By pursuing part time jobs they learn how hard it is to earn money, they start calculating the amount of hours they need to work to be able to afford a phone which is a basic aminity. When children earn with hardwork, they will also be judicious about spending and not indulge in impulsive buying. They will start to evaluate if the thing they desire is worth its value in money, is there another economical alternative and will be efficiently used after purchase. These are the factors that they would not consider, if they are being provided with prodigious pocket money. Also, they will refrain from spending on drugs and alcohol.

A part time job is a great way to utilize free time that teenagers have on their hand. Teens devote significant amount of time on computer games, parties, concerts, chatting and social media. These donot add to their values or learning. The internet is raft with scams where teens are the victim. Social media sites are known for encouranging enorexia among girls. Influential celebrities exhort depravity and reckless behavoir. Teenagers are not mature enough to discern right from wrong and hence fall prey to the many decoys that online world offers. Instead if they are employed in a part time job, they would have less time for these activities. It would in a way protect them from bad influences, that are meretricious and hard to quit.

Thus, children should be encouraged by their parents in taking up part time jobs. Their time would not be wasted and will be utilized in learning important life lessons. They will value the money that they earn and think twice before squandering it on items with no utilitarian value.