Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is through the officials appointed at various levels that the government is able to carry out its agenda. At certain times, when the probity of the government is being impugned, it is inevitable to question if these officials are equally responsible. If the government employees are able to exercise their own judgement can we blame them for playing accomplice in wrongful acts. However, these officials have mostly executive powers and do not have the authority to question. This system seems practical but also offers demerits of its own.

If all the government officials start exercising their own judgement on orders passed to them, it will result in chaos. Different people might have different views on same subject and if they are to act according to what they feel is righteous, then they will act differently. For instance the police force may be ordered to provide protection to people participating in gay pride parade. Some of the officers with parochial views may not find such orders in accord with their beliefs. If they were to act according to their own judgement, it would result in chaos, where some of the police force will try and protect the participants where as others might condemn the practice. Moreover, the decision making powers should rest with the government heads who have a bigger picture and decisions are well debated in the parliament.

Also, sometimes it may be the case of outright malfeasance by the boss, where in, the subordinates should act. For instance, if a government official knows about venal acts of the ruling party, he should blow the whistle on them. If an officer is asked to report false figures of budget expenditure, aiding the politicians to appropriate the funds, he should rely on his judgement and not carry out the orders. It is in such black and white situations that officials must use their judgement. In other cases, where they are not aware of the whole picture, they should not intervene.

Thus, the statement is too strong in stating that the officials, no matter their rank, no matter the circumstances, should rely on their own judgement. Sometimes it is prudent to carry out the will of their seniors as they have a better handle on the current scenario.