Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

One should not pursue fame and recognition, but strive for long term goals that are realistic.

Young people who have long-term goals are more likely to succeed. Take an example of an actor who is in love with his craft and would not give up acting for anything else. He is really passionate and would accept a role in play even if he not offered a lead. Such perseverence has paid off to many actors, who later have been offered pivotal roles. Even the ones who did not have the opportunity to be a protagonist, have given their best performances in comic roles. Constrast this, with a good looking lad who is given the lead role in his first play. Smug about his immediate fame, he will not accept to play any character with fewer lines. Such a person is likely to end up being a one show phenomenon. His need for fame and recognition satisfied by always being in the lime light will end his career in acting. He may try his talent in singing, directing or writting, but if he does this for the sole purpose of being famous, he is less likely to last in any field. Thus, young people should pursue realistic goals for long term to become successful in any field.

Immediate fame and recognition are ephemeral. Fame and recognition should come as a by-product of long term efforts, they should not be the aim to strive for. If one seeks fame by involving himself in activities that please society but not him, then he will not be able to sustain his enthusiasm for a longer period.

There are a very few people who are famous, even if not for the right reasons. There are very few chances of one becoming famous. Where as, if you have realistic goals, you will most likely succeed in attaining them. Fame is not merely a result of one’s efforts, there are many factors outside the influence of a person that govern his recognition. Many people should notice you, like you, and be interested in you.

Thus one should not run for fame, but instead invest his efforts in a field that interests him. Fame and recognition are not entirely a result of ones efforts, other people and many people are vital in making a person famous.