People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society and immediate situations, both determine people’s attitude, but immediate surrounding play a more influential role. Society reflects the way in which people interact with their surroundings and among themselves. However, one is more likely to pick up traits from immediate surroundings than from society.

People’s attitudes are a influenced by the economic condition of the family. Kids with rich parents who see their parents participating in philanthropic activities would grow up to support such causes. As children are like wet cement, the impressions they form are engrained in them and are reflected in their attitude. Parents who encourage their children to share and care for others, provide an environment where children inculcate humanistic values. Where as, people who live by the streets and have no means to earn their daily wage, influence their children to commit wrongful acts. Moreover, the one who grew up in affluent houses is more likely develop a prodigal attitude. Money comes very easily to him and he does not have to think before spending. A hedonist lifestyle and carefree attitude are the characteristics of such heirs. On the other hand, an middle class household is not capable of supporting such behaviour. As a result, people with economic upbringing tend to be frugal and prudent with their spendings. Hence, it seems that the environment in which we grow up, shapes our attitudes. In early years of our lives, society does not play a major role; but it is during these years that we develop life long attitudes.

The basic philosophies of tech giants that reflect the attitudes of their founders, offer useful insights. Steve Jobs, founder of Apple, encourages fierce competition among his engineers. He makes two teams work on the same problem and encourages each to out do the other in terms of time, resources and cost, offering incentives to promote competitive spirit. Where as, Google does no such thing. It gives ample time, resources and flexibility to its engineers to encourage collaboration. They believe creativity flourishes best when one is free from pressure. This reflects the attitudes of their founders, Larry Page and Surgey Bing. The founders of both the companies grew up in American society, but yet have contrasting attitudes. Even in personal life, Jobs never completed his graduation believing that its not worth the money it costs; Larry and Bing, completed their PhDs. This shows that although they belong to the same society, they have different philosophies of life. Growing up in different houses, with different parents inculcating different values in their children, could be the reasons of their diverse attitude.

Thus, one can say immediate surroundings are important(at least more important than society) in influencing the way people act. Children are directly effected by their environment than by society and develop different ways of looking at things. Individuals who grow up in the same society have different traits.