People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Since stone age man has been an adventurous creature, taking risks while hunting animals, travelling through forest and even tasting unkown fruits, stems and roots of plants. In todays world he takes risk in the form of investing, be it investing in stocks, investing efforts in a doubtful project or even investing his life.

Let us take an example of stunt man who performs dangerous tasks like walking through fire, crashing cars or doing somersaults in a bike. These people are taking a huge risk with their life. They should understand that though medical aid is present at their disposal, it does not eliminate all chance of accidents. In fact accidents are frequent. It could cost them their life, or loose their limbs or suffer severe burns. They should think about what they should do if they end up in such a situation. They may be well paid, or may even be granted pension for the rest of their life, but is that the life they would like to live? Are they really ok staying in the wheel chair for a lifetime for a price? One should ponder upon such questions before taking such huge risks.

Also, people who invest in stocks or real estate or new ventures, should do so cautiosly. They should try and find out about the history of the company, about the kind of people who run it, the status quo and the values they uphold. Only after careful thought should they be willing to part with their hard earned savings. Ofcourse this does not gaurantee success or profits, but one can take satisfaction in the fact that they did proper market research and there was atleast a satisfactory chance of their risks bearing fruits. Also one should hedge his bets and not invest everything at one place. This avoids cases where all is lost. One has should not invest all his has, but only the money he has excess. He should also give a thought about the life-style changes he is willing to make, incase he is in the worst possible scenario.

However, we can argue that not all consequences can be thought about before risking, the outcome is unknown and it could be completely different from what one could foresee. This is true, but think of what is the worst that could occur; prepare for that. Sometimes thinking on these lines gives one courage to approach the situation. Over thinnking about the results of their action, many people feel reluctance, then they otherwise would. But this is good when one is risking his life. In other cases like investment, if one thinks about the worst that can occur, it can actually exhort him to take action.

Thus one should always undertake risky action after considering its consequences, preparing for it, and only then going ahead with it. No one would like to be in a situation where they are sufferring from losses and initially there were higher stakes. Take risks but do not take ludicrous ones, the ones involving life.