TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Time is one of the most important things in our lives. It is the most valuable things that we have. Every person chooses how to dedicate his time according to his point of view. The issue whether people today spend too much time on their personal enjoyment – doing things that they like rather than doing things they should do or not aroused much controversy among different people with different perspectives, different ages, and different cultures. Some contend think that the personal interest is an essential part to stay healthy and productive in one’s life. However I completely disagree, the people should do things they should do due to there are many factors that reduce the people do not spend proper time in their personal enjoyment such as fierce competition in every field, and to satisfy basic family needs.

The presence of the fierce competitions in our word today, putting the people under pressure for seeking for success. For getting a job with a high salary, you should meet the requirement such as high experience, and good knowledge which requires from you a lot of time to get it, therefore, you will not have enough time for your personal enjoyment. Even you got your job, you will have to work hard to achieve success, and sometimes the atmosphere in work surrounded with the competitions among people, everyone is looking for promotion within a short period of time. It is true that the competition atmosphere is the key of development any company since everyone does his best to get his goal but at the same time, it declines their time of personal enjoyment. For example, I am working in compounding Pharmacy in Manhattan. I worked in this pharmacy 2 years ago but they hired another co-worker 6 months ago, I taught her everything, and she started to work really hard to take my position, Therefore, I started to work hard, ignore all my personal issue and enjoyment to stay in my position, and achieve my goal. Even in the schools, the students are facing a lot of competition, they want to get a high score as their peer, thus, they study hard, no time for playing as before, and as the result, they get a high score for better future.

In addition to the pressure of the competition, with the development of technology and our modern life, the people basic needs increase; the human desire becomes more insatiable. The people should work hard to get more money to satisfy their family needs since everything now is so expensive. For example, my husband works in the company morning, and his salary is not enough since we have three children, so, he works at night as limousine driver. We almost are not seeing him expect Sunday. He works all the time to satisfy our needs such as our mortgage, our car payment, our food, and our kids need. It is really tough life but what we can do, there is nothing to do. We have to do what we should do because this is our life but thanks god for everything.

As all things considered, it is true that we have to spend time on our personal enjoyment to relax from the stress of the work, which helps us to focus more on our work and to be more productive. When it comes to satisfying our basic needs and fierce competitions in our today’s world, we have to do what we should do.