TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Personal enjoyment and necessary tasks have been a debatable issue for years. There are many arguments that people today spend too much time on doing things they like to do than to doing things they should do. Personally, I strongly agree with this statement.

On one hand, what I put in my priority is self-control deterioration. The fact is that people today are likely to be attracted by entertainments. Since the technology has significantly improved through the years, people are able to possess many hobbies and entertainments that technology provides. Accordingly, they have a tendency to focus to pursue these hobbies, which, in fact, wastes lots of their time. There is a likelihood that the things that they should do never cross their mind while they are doing their favorite work. For example, once I visited my cousin, he was watching his favorite cartoons. His mother told him to finish the house work before 5pm. However, he concentrated on watching the cartoon without noticing the task which he should do. Although I reminded him of his duty, he quickly put it out of his mind after a few minutes watching the cartoon. As a result, he forgot the housework and got a punishment from her mother. My cousin’s case is a perfect example of people today tend to do things they like rather than things they should do.

Secondly, bad awareness is undauntedly of paramount importance. People like doing what they like because they like the upcoming results. These upcoming results are bound to be the happiness and satisfaction that people want to have. Therefore, it makes them forget about the achievement of doing the things they should do, which is often rewarding. Without doubt, people today prefer doing their favorite things to doing necessary things. My friend, for example, bought his new video game. Despite he knew that there was an important upcoming exam, he still spent time enjoying the game. He assumed that playing games makes him a lot happier. Therefore, he did badly in the exam and receive low grade. The worst thing was he had to take the class again since his score was too low to receive credit. My friend’s case is considered a good illustration of people today prefer doing their favorite things to doing necessary things.

In conclusion, self-control deterioration and bad awareness are the convincing reasons for my agreement. It is highly recommended that readers should take my writing into close consideration.