TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television advertising’s aim at young children has been a debatable issue for years. Parents argue that television advertising should not be allowed to direct towards young children. Personally, I strongly agree with this argument.

First and foremost, what I put in my priority is physical health. The fact is that when television advertising is designed to aim at children, editor will put in some fictional action such as a man flying or a man using sword to fight against evils. Therefore, it is likely to capture children’s attention. Since they are too young to tell what is right and what is wrong, children have a tendency to imitate what they see on television. These actions may be very dangerous because it’s not real and children can harm the own health if they copy these actions. More importantly, many cartoon characters will be used in advertising which is aimed directly at children. Accordingly, they are bound to be attracted to these advertisements. There is a likelihood that children spend lots of time on those advertisement. Their eyesight will be badly damaged by exposing to the TV screen for too long. As a result, television advertising is a main factor contributing to worsen children’s physical health.

In the second place, family attachment is undoubtedly of paramount importance. It is widely known that companies just want to sell their product through advertising. Accordingly, they are bound to magnify the use of their products, which is appealing to children. As a result, when children ask their parents for these products and get rejected, they will change their look about their parents. More seriously, when television advertisements’ goal is to aim at children, they are bound to have funny content. Children between the age of two and five are still immature and they don’t have time-management skills. Therefore, children will have a tendency to devote their time watching these interesting TV advertisement. It creates a barrier which prevents children from communicating with their parents. Without doubt, advertisement on TV critically affects family bonding.

On the other hand, some people might say that television advertising has great amount of valuable information. Therefore, it will improve children’s knowledge and awareness. However, this opinion is not always true. In fact, in order to increase company’s revenue, the advertisement designers have a tendency to distort the truth about their products. Furthermore, television advertisement not only provides incorrect information but also harms children’s mental health. There are many uncensored advertisement which will badly affect children’s way of thinking. Children are easily affected by the bad message that the advertisements convey. Accordingly, their awareness and behavior will be wrongly shaped and it will result in negative consequence in the future. Beyond any doubt, the idea that television advertisement directed towards young children will improve their awareness is often possible to end in collapse.

In conclusion, physical state, family bonding, awareness deterioration are convincing reasons for my agreement. It is highly recommended that readers should take my writing into careful consideration.