TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether today’s life is more comfortable than our grandparent’s life in their childhood. In my opinion, nowadays our existence is easier than it was 50 years ago. I will explain my position providing examples to support my point of view.

First of all, an opportunity for communication between people rises up to the other level. Now we are living in the era of computers, global web networks and cell phones. But a few years ago, the only way to keep in touch with the friends or relatives was paper letters. People were waiting for an answer for a long time, and there was a big chance of not getting an answer or possibility for loss of the letter somewhere on the way. Nowadays, people are sending millions of e-mails every day and one second is needed to say “hi” to a person who is thousands of miles away from you.

Secondly, 50 years ago Russian people were struggling with a problem of food accessibility on the shelves of the supermarkets. Today, our supermarkets are bursting with the different kinds of clothes, food, medicines, and we can get anything we want just by visiting the nearest shopping centre across the street. My grandmother once said that it seems luxurious to her because when she was young, she had to buy all products using a limited number of special cards. Therefore, she was able to buy her first pair of jeans only when she was 30 years old.

Finally, It was extremely expensive to travel, and people had no chance to go abroad. People had slight opportunities to travel abroad because of the political issues and particular qualities of our country. Today, it is much easier to explore other countries, and sometimes you even don’t need to get a visa for going to the particular place. People became more flexible in their movements as the travellers, they can easily buy a ticket to the closest aeroplane to an exotic country with no worry and fear whether they will be able to come back or not.

In conclusion, I want to say that our everyday life became easier in comparison to our grandparent’s childhood. I hope that the examples given above have sufficiently expressed my opinion.