TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue whether today’s life is more comfortable than our grandparent’s life in their childhood. In my opinion, nowadays our existance is easier than it was 50 years ago. I will explain my position providing examples to support my point of view.

First of all, opportunity for communication between people rise up on the other level. Now we are living in the era of computers, global web networks and cell phones. But few years ago, the only way to keep in tough with the friends or relatives was paper letters. People was waiting for an answer for a long time, and there was a big chance for not getting an answer, or possibility for loss of the letter somewhere on the way. Nowadays, people are sending millions of e-mails every day and one second is needed to say “hi” to a person who is thousands of miles away from you.

Secondly, 50 years ago russian people were struggling with a problem of food accessibility on the shelfs of the supermarkets. Today, our supermarkets is bursting with the different kinds of clothes, food, medicines, and we can get anything we want just by visiting the nearest shoping center across the street. My grandmother once said that it seems luxiorus to her because when she was young, she had to buy all products using limited number of special cards. Therefore, she was able to buy her first pair of jeans only when she was 30 years old.

Finally, Is was extremly expensive to travel, and people had no chance to go abroad. People had slight opportunities to travel abroad because of the political issues and particular qualities of our country. Today, it is much more easier to explore another countires, and sometimes you even don’t need to get a visa for going to the particuar place. People became more flexible in their movements as the travelers, they can easily buy a ticket to the closest airplane to exotic country with no worry and fear wether they will be able to come back or not.

In conclusion, I want to say that our everyday life became easier in comparison with our grandparent’s childhood. I hope that the examples given above have sufficiently expressed my opinion