TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether an understanding of the main concepts is more important than to learn definite facts or not. In my opinion, knowledge of the basic ideas and concepts is more valuable for mastering yourself in the particular subject. I will explain my position providing the examples to support my point of view.

First of all, the core concepts can guide you through the subject’s material. I understood the value of this principle when I was learning Pharmacology. The most challenging part of the subject was to memorise all of the pharmacological groups because each group contains various medicines differed by a lot of parameters. Understanding the main feature of the group helped me to apply these basic fundamental ideas while I was studying a particular drug of this group. After that, it was really easy to understand group’s interrelations and to build a whole picture of the subject.

Second, basic principles learned from the example of one subject can be used in other fields of study. For example, fundamental principles of mathematics can be applied in everyday life. You don’t need to be excellent in math to use mathematical equations in your research paper, you just need to understand the main principle of mathematical ideas such us logarithm, sum or others.

Finally, understanding the main ideas is a key for student’s future development. I believe that enormous quantity of information is passed through our mind during the university and it is completely impossible to memorize all of it. Therefore, core concepts should be remembered by students as a solid background from which easier to start to revise previous knowledge or learn further in the future.

In the conclusion, I want to say that understanding ideas and concepts is a wonderful strategy for learning a subject. I hope that the examples given above have sufficiently expressed my opinion.