TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most of the curriculums offered in schools are covered by facts; therefore, students always have to learn facts in textbooks. It is very easy to learn facts by reading books. However, what the students need is not the facts, it is the concepts or ideas behinds these facts. In my view, it's more important for students to learning ideas and concepts than it is to learn facts. By Understanding ideas and concepts, students can apply their knowledge easily into a variety of situation, and also it would grant students a better ability to think critically.

Firstly, understanding the core ideas and concept of one subject, students can apply this knowledge into many different situations. Facts in textbooks can not cover all the things in one subject. Memorize these facts may help students get a high score in the tests, but when they leave the school and work with different situations in our society, the ability to apply this knowledge is actually the most important one. Therefore, by understanding the main ideas or concepts, we can deal with any unexpected problems simultaneously. For example, when I was a business student at my university, we are taught how to solve simulation business cases. There was never an ultimate agreement about the right solution, however, after every class, our teachers sum up all the ideas we presented and discussed the negative and positive aspects of each idea. By this method, we learn to be flexible in applying our knowledge into real life situations when I worked at the most famous business company In USA and I became a successful businessman. So, it is beneficial to learn the idea and the concept which helps you to solve many problems in your life.

Secondly, understanding ideas and concept would make students develop student’s critical thinking ability. Education is not about how many facts you memorize, but it is to improve our ability to think. In many subjects like history or political science, students study a lot of events in the past, however, the important thing is not the statistics of all these events but the lessons they leave behind. By understanding thoroughly those lessons, students will be better thinkers and be able to develop their own new exciting idea. For example, we all learn about Nelson Mandela in school. But we don’t need to remember his birthday or how many years he was imprisoned or the stages of his life. What is important about Nelson is his idea about freedom and the lessons he teaches generations to come. Understanding these ideas is more crucial than memorizing all other facts. It reminds me with the most famous philosopher, Wolfgang von Goethe’s speech “to make all truly wise thoughts ours, we must think thousands of time until they take firm root in our personal experience”.

As all things considered, while it is true that the fact benefits us in our life since it helps us to get more information. One can not deny that the acquaintance from ideas and concept far outweighs that from facts because it helps people to solve many problems and develop their thinking ability.