TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is a monumental tool for intellectual, career development of an individual. During an educational course of time, we confront various studying patterns and there is an everlasting debate over which pattern of learning is significant- to understand ideas or to learn facts. However, Students, I believe, should focus primarily in understanding theme of subject rather than learning facts.

At first, understanding a deep concepts and ideas have always brought a monumental change in human life, science, social activity. All the Scientific theory are developed from knowing and understanding a concept of reason behind it. For instance, If Sir Isaac newton, a great physicist, had only known fact that apple or other object fall to the ground, without the reason behind it then law of gravitation may not have theorized till now. Similarly, Enisten, without understanding general theory of relativity, would not have developed general theory.

Second, understanding to the core concept of the theory aids us to solve difficult problem with ease. For example, When I was at high school, I had to assignment related to physics numerical problem and at that time, I had only memorized only basic formula. So, I, making me difficult to solve twisted problem,was only able to solve the problem which fits according to formula. And when I learned the derivation of formula, basic principle, I was to able to solve a bigger and twisted problem. further more, my friend, being weak in english, in class 5, used to learned all the answer of the chapter, without learning its theme, so when the question is intimated, he used to leave the question, causing lower grades in exam.

However, learning the facts is believed to be basic fundamental need during initial stage of education. Such as recognizing letter - A, B, C- should be learned and memorized rather than understanding. The learned formulae, costing less time, helps to solve mathematical problem in examination. But, as we grow, the need of understanding the concept becomes pivotal because we tackle a problem based on intellect rather than fact when we go to higher grade. For example, when I was at class 1, question in exam was based on fact( who, when , how) but when was at grade 10, the question was based on cognizance ( primary purpose, the reason, theme).

Finally, being a need of learned studying at the primary stage of education, there is a monumental need of understanding concept as we, because the level and demand of cognizance increases, go towards higher study. The core understanding also helps in understanding, solving complicated problem, discovering a basic mechanism on new things.