TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Do you think that pool of study has some end? It starts from the very first day of the life and doesn't have other end. Can anyone say that I am perfect in this particular field? Scholars, genius who has developed concepts and ideas left the world without having complete knowledge. There is always scope to learn more and more. Is it possible to learn all things in a fist size brain? Agreeing to the statement that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to learn facts.

Students start learning facts from the school life and even they use to learn concepts in spite of understanding the depth behind the concept. It will be helpful to learn facts in the early stages of education due to less quantity of the material but as the level progresses they have to realize the value of understanding. Once concept is clear then it will be there always in your brain. There is no need of a word "revision" in that concept. It is very important for science students to understand the concept and idea in compare to learning facts. Can you imagine a physics student learning concepts and examples? How much can he/she learn? If he/she co-relates those concepts with the practical scenario of day to day life and understands the reason behind the concept then it is easy to memorize it forever. A good statement "practice makes perfect" also depicts that understanding and doing practice will always tends toward perfection.

Understanding and learning are two ways to get the knowledge. It basically depends on the situation and the requirement. Some subject requires learning of the facts. It is impossible to understand the meaning of the particular incident. Can anyone understand the dates and facts in the historical field? I think no. We have to learn the dates and incidents happened in history. Similarly biology requires learning of scientific names and medicines name for the ailment of particular disease. What is there to understand in this requirement?

Students should always try to understand the concepts and ideas but if it is not in the will power to understand certain things then we have to take support of the learning. Understanding will sustain for long time whereas learning facts requires revision and practices at regular intervals. Keeping in mind that there is no limit of education students should balance the subjects accordingly to maintain everything.