TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with television advertising directed toward young children, aged two to five should not be allowed. Kids do not have the full fledge to know what is a beneficial thing for them. In addition, when they spend time watching television alone it is difficult to control some situations.

First of all, the kid with age between 2 and 5 years, does not have the maturity to understand what is a good thing or a bad thing an sometimes they do not know how to proceed when an ad pop up on television. I have a son, Felipe and He is 4 years old and every time he watches television and an advertising are showing he asks to me to buy for him and sometimes this thing maybe is not allowed for his age. For example some months ago we were watching television and a commercial about a toy appeared and at the same moment, he asked to buy this product to him. The toy was approved to children with 6 years old and he could play with it because there are small pieces and could be dangerous for he put on his mouth and swallow it. Moreover, Felipe sometimes asks me to buy some toys similar to guns, for example, a revolver, a tank and etc. These kind of fake guns are very dangerous, especially for 4 years.

Second, children do not know the difference between a cheap and expensive thing. Every children when they are seeing any advertising on a television the first thing that they do is ask for their parents to buy this thing even though an expensive toy. Sometimes this can be stressful for the parents, this is happening all the time at my house especially when we are all together watching some movie on television. I have a daughter and she is 5 years old and last week was watching a movie and every advertising showed in the movie she asked me to buy that thing to her, and I lost my patience and stopped the film abruptly, turned off the television and put everyone to sleep.

In conclusion, I think the television adverting should not be allowed because children with age between 2 and 5 years do not know the difference between a good and a bad thing and they don’t know when they are able to ask something to your parents buy and this can be very stressful to your parents.