TPO 1: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that colleges should allocate their finance into libraries and classes since this would directly lead to professional advancements. However, I subscribe to the view that sports and social activities are equally important.

First, sports will help students retain their physical and mental health. For most of the students studying is a sedentary job, they sit on their desks for several hours, doing their assignments, and spent additional several hours sitting in the classrooms listening to the lectures. As a result, they have not only become unfit and coordinated, but they also suffer from different mental conditions such as depression and anxiety. Physical exercises will undoubtedly help students remain fit. It is also perfectly known that doing physical exercises lowers blood pressure, and hence, decrease the possibility of heart conditions. Moreover, sports can help students ventilate their anger and soothe their nerves, and thus, have a healthier mental life.

Second, social activities can introduce new subjects to students. Socializing with their peers, students can learn about new topics and as a result, they can broaden their thought limits. For example, I learned that I was interested in neuroscience_ the major I am going to study for my PHD_ when attending a weekly student meeting at university, while I was a physics student.

To sum up, I totally believe that students benefit from involving in sports and social activities as much as they benefit from attending classes at the university because they can retain their physical and mental health, and learn about new topics.