TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Playing games are considered an instrument of sound mental and physical health. The trend of indoor games such as video games are proliferating and gaining fame among all age groups – from adolescents to adults. However, the impact of this trend has come under scrutiny and has been a concern for many. The protagonists of such games cite that video games are an effective educational tool, whereas dissenters void that claim by counting numerous demerits of such games. I completely agree that video games are having negative repercussions. Some of the disadvantages will be outlined in following paragraphs

To begin with, videos games has liked been to many problems in the schools especially, studies consistently have shown that children who play video games have problems with attendance as well as management defect as sleeping in the class, and exhibition of disruptive and even hostile behaviors. The children who are affected with a long exposure to action games have a negative impact on their brain function, and they are likely to imitate these behaviors with their children at schools. For example, my son Steven has 6 years old; he used to sit in the front of computer more than 5 hours playing video game such as action games, as the result, he became so aggressive with us, even with his friends at school, and the teachers complain about his behavior. So, I worked on that and let him play the games which help in growing his intelligence such as education games, or games that help to learn valuable things such as soccer-ball games since it helps him to learn how to be cooperative. I let him play just limited time in playing games on the computer because he has a lot of things to do such as his homework, and his assignment for school.

Secondly, it has detrimental physical health children. According to Kaiser Foundation found that the average 8 to 18 years old spends 7.5 hours per day in the front of the computer this led to lack physical activities leads to healthy problems such as obesity. Obesity leads to many problems like heart attack, blood pressure, and cholesterol problem. No matter what circumstance students have, they can keep healthy life by taking a few minutes to exercise, Therefore; they should not spend most of the time in the front the computer. The exercises help the students to relax and relieve their stress that they are experienced t schools, and be able to go to school more energetic. Moreover, it helps them to focus and concentrated on their study since they are relaxed for better future. As the example that I mention before about my son, in the period that he addicted all the video games, he gain a lot of weight since he does not like to go outside the home to practice some exercise, and he got diabetes but after I controlled what kind of the video games he should watch, arranged the time for playing video games and the time for exercising, he cured and he lost the weight that he has gained. The health all the wealth we have that is why we should care about it.

Finally, spending the children most of their times in the front of the computer which led them to exhibit social deficiencies, they do not like to speak with their parent which cause a gap between children and their parent. This gap in the relationship will destroy the communication between each other that lead them to struggle when they are facing problems in their life since the parents are the only one they love their children, care about them, and their dreams to see their children are the best. The video game takes away the time they should spend with their parent. This time is really important because they can discuss many issues such as their future and about their relationships with their friend. They can give them devices that help them to avoid mistakes.

As all things considered, It is true that the video games let the children have a lot of fun and learn a lot of valuable things but when it comes to its demerits are far outweighs its merits due to setting in the front of the computer for a long time led them to exhibit disruptive and hostile behaviors, cause a lot of diseases, and loss of their communication with their parent. Therefore, the parent should control the time and the kind of video games they should watch it.