TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without no doubt some people would agree that playing computer games is not productive and children should not be allowed to play them, while others may consider the opposite point of view. As far as I am concern, I disagree with the statement presented above. Computer games gained bad reputation because its violence and addictive effect in some players, but with an adult control and supervising computer games can be also a fantastic tool to improve children skills in early age that would help them during their future school time.

First of all, computer games cover a wide range of possibilities and types, for all different ages. Consequently, we can find those games that are appropriated for each children. However, is responsibility of the parents or adults in charge of the child to choose and supervise the games he or she is going to play with. Thus, a good computer game could represent an excellent option of entertainment at the moment children has free time. For example, it was very useful for my daughter to play computer games related with English vocabulary. She very soon started to improve her English.

Additionally, computer games can be a fantastic tool for improving different skill in children. According to the University of Toronto, children exposed to computer games in early age are more advanced in temporal spacial skills, identification of shapes and colour, language and communication, than those that only played old traditional games. For instants, the computer game Minecraft is a computer game with the goal to construct and design three dimensional objects in a plane or area. Children build, after getting some tools and killing some monsters, houses, buildings, town and cities. This game require the application of creativity, spacial temporal skills and recognise shapes and textures. Consequently, children playing this game improve all those skills.

Finally, computer games start with a personal experience but soon it expand into a multi interactive experience, where not only, several children are playing simultaneously on line, but also create group of friend with same topic in common: the game. To illustrate this, let's bring up again the Minecraft game. It became very popular among children between eight to ten years old, and in consequence, the game was part of the daily conversation between those player. To the point that other kids started to play to belong to a group or friends. Considering this, I understand that computers game should be played by children.

In summary, taking care of the reasons exposed above, controlling and choosing the right computer games for children, the proof of how computer games can improve different skills and the positive social effect when share same games between a group of children, I indeed disagree with the statement presented in the thesis above.