TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Technology plays an important part in our daily lives. We can use technology on almost every aspects of lives and obviously we cannot escape its influence anymore. One very  important technology is computers. Both adults and children can access to video games through using computer. Some people believe that computers games help young children to be more creative, While others hold different opinion. In my view, children should not be allowed to play computers games for many reasons.

First, children who play computer games become unhealthy. Since computer games posses an addicted effect, which makes children spend many hours playing without feeling that. This means they would not have time to do physical activities, and consequently, lead to obesity. For example, Last month , I read an article about the negative impacts of lacking physical activities on young children, in particular, their cognitive abilities and their growth. According to this article, the major cause for children to do not participate in any sports, or other social activities is that these young children have been playing video-games for hours during their normal day. These children have unable to develop normally, or suffer from some inabilities to communicate effectively with others from same age. As you can see, playing computer games are not only complete waste of time, but also do have serious problems on children’s development.

Second, children who spend hours playing games, they do not have enough time to study. As I mentioned earlier, videos games do really have addiction affects, this negative impact would shift children away from their important studies, in fact, they will fail in their study. For instance, two- years ago, my sister brought to her son, who is a young child, one of so popular video-games as a reward for his success in studying in that year. Since that year, my nephew was spending many hours playing games without pay attention to his homeworks, or exams. After that, though his parents followed up with him, he had begun to do not very well on his studies,and eventually he failed on certain exams. My sister have realized that since he started playing, his grades went down dramatically because he did not have time to study, besides to stay up late. This experience taught me that even if parents organize their children time to play some video-games, they would not able to control how many hours will spend because of addiction powers. ultimately, children will waste their precious studying time.

Third, children who watch video-games will influence their behavior negatively. Even though their are so many advertisement inform children to not imitate characters on games, children, unfortunately, do not have that sense of reality and they will learn violence. For example, When I worked at one of health emergency center last year, I had seen many cases that visited the center were about children try to do what you have seen on games. Therefore, these innocent children were broken their arms or leg, or in advance cases, they suffered from other children try to do such violent movements while they playing with each others. All these cases are resulted from, exposure to games materials that actually inappropriate for their ages.

In short, children should not allow to play computer games not only it will deteriorate their health, but also do waste their studying time. Without forgetting they will influence their behavior negatively. We should all encourage parents to take care of their children by spending more time with them instead of letting them do useless activities.