TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

" Playing games for children brings joy and happiness" In our current generation, technology dominated the society in such a way that majority of the people has computers. Even a young toddler has the advanced computer skills.

Computer games can be beneficial in some ways. I personally, disagree that playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. I cast doubt this statement with few reasons below. In order to understand well about my statement their some advantages and disadvantages to take into consideration.

To begin with, Computer games can be educational. In the current generation technology plays a huge role in our society.

Parents should guide their children to choose which computer games are necessary to play. Some computer games are violent and inappropriate to play. For example, I have a niece who loves to play with computer games, but, as a aunt of him I advice him to play games that is informative and able to learn and gain knowledge. On the other hand, playing computer games can be wasting of time, in a way that children must know, that instead of, studying, they are wasting their time to play computer games. To fully understand ,children must know to prioritize their studies first, before playing computer games. Parent plays the significant role on this topic. Their role is to guide their children thoroughly.

On my view, Computer games can be a bad habit to children. Overusing the computer may affect their lifestyle particular with their studies. In fact the disadvantage is, when children, use the computer in a consistent manner, eventually their grades will deplete and suffer. For example, a have a friend who loves to play computer games, she states that playing computer games can benefit her that makes her relax and out of boredom. However, my friend's grades suffer and unable to complete units and unable to commence her course. So, this gives an conclusion that computer sometimes bad to some children.

Another thing is, playing computer games is beneficial to some children who has mental or behavior problems. It can benefit them to stay calm, less agitated and most importantly, it can benefit them to have self-control and self-discipline. For example, on my person experience, I work in a facility in the past that I encountered few mentally-ill children, in which their behavior is way different to a normal child, by, having them play the computer games it can stimulate their brain to stay calm and less tantrums, but, with their educators such as the caregivers they can teach them more on playing computer games that can help the children to behave. On the contrary, it can over stimulate the child that makes them more agitated and uncontrollable with their behavior.

In my general conclusion, playing computer games can be beneficial to children, in some factors such as it can be informative, educational and help the child to stay calm, however, it can not be beneficial to children, eventually their way of lifestyle especially their studies will suffer.