TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a doubt, some people will argue that have a broad knowledge is better that to specialise in one subject while other may consider the opposite point of view. As far as I am concern, I firmly agree with the second option. In our modern and complex society, competition and market segmentation obligate professionals to be more and more specialised in their areas of study or business.

First of all, today, it is important that a graduated student understands that the job market is complex and very competitive, no matter what career the student is pursuing. In fact, competition is the principal factor a new graduated student will face not only in his or her first job, but along all his or her career. By this token, the best way to acquire some advantage over others is specialising in one subject, being the best in it and not good in many as many others. Thus, the specialisation may be considered the principal factor to success in his or her career.

Additionally, the market today, in focusing more and more in market segmentation, where not only a target consumer is identify by a company in a marketing strategy, but also the professionals involved in the satisfaction of that demand. For example, communication can be an interesting subject but also too wide to embrace and to general to teach about. On the other hand, a specialist in social media or graphic journalism can reduce the area of study and create a more effective class with a teacher specialised in the subject. Again, the specialisation would add an advantage and a better possibility to get a job.

In summary, considering the reasons explained above, I firmly believe that a student will have a more successful professional career if she or he specialise in one specific subject and not in a broad academic subjects.