Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In recent times, there is a great debate about if the use of grades to qualify the academic development of students would benefit them or not to improve their learning. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that grades are necessary for a successful career. I feel this way mainly for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, I consider that the grades give an standard evaluation of the knowledge of a student that the teacher or professor would consider higher enough to pass or fail to a next level of study or graduation. For example, a student in medicine must demonstrates his skills and knowledge without any doubt considering that humans lives would be on his or her hands. On this token, I understand that only a mark could determinate the level of learning more precisely. When I was a student of biology I had to memorise a bunch of Latin names related with medicine plants. I did not dedicate the necessary time to study and of course I failed the exam. Consequently, I retook the exam with a longer and better preparation and finally I was approved. Some time later, thanks to remember the name of a medicine by heart I could save the live of a child who was having an allergic reaction to penicillin. Thus, if I would have wasted time looking in the data base for the product, those minutes would be fatal for the child. A low score in my exam during my studies encourage me to reinforce my knowledge and years late save a life.

Secondly, I believe that grades also invite group of students to improve their marks when they compare each other. For instance, if a child has a friend with good marks, this friend would like to help him to improve and would invite him to study more and learn better. My son experience is a good proof of this. During grade 5, his marks were not very high, but when the class receive the report card he could compare with others students. Then, he realised he was not as good as his friends and decide to improve to feel proud of himself and received the honours as they did. Later on, his marks improved and his learning quality increased considerably.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades are important to encourage the learning of a student. This is because is an excellent way to evaluate the knowledge of a student, and because influence a individual in a group to improve the way he or she learns.