Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Have you ever got good marks in the class? How do you feel when you get great marks? Some people think that grades encourage students to learn, but other people think that grades are not necessary for students to learn. I, on the other hand, strongly think that marks inspirit students to learn because it gives students the chance for competing with other students, makes students feel successful and give the teachers to understand their students.

Firstly, grades give students an opportunity to compete with others. In they real life, there are many competitions such as you have to interview for a job, if you want to promote your work, make your company develop, etc. thus, the competitions in class can make your get used to do those things better.

Secondly, if you have an obtaining good mark, it will make the student feel successful. In order to get high scores, you need to study hard. You have to read a lot of books do daily homework carefully and do some extra exercises. With the great grade in the previous test and the successful feeling, you may have a spirit to study so that you can take a higher score in the class. Obtaining good grades in tests and feeling successful will boost students’ moral encouraging them to study and score highly. At the same time, the succeeding in school encourages students to succeed in society.

Finally, through the students’ grades, the teachers can measure the students’ learning ability and students' learning progress. They can find out whether their students have understood the lessons or otherwise, and whether they can do the test or not. So they can help the weak students improve their study and keep the good students up. Thus, it can be easier for the teacher to teach the students.

In conclusion, I think that marks inspire students to study because it makes students compete with others, makes students feel success and give teachers opportunity to measure students’ knowledge.