TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without not doubt, many people could support the statement that is more important that students understand ideas and concepts over facts, and other people could have the opposite point of view. As far as I am concerne, I firmly believe in the statement proposed above. Clearly, for me, understanding ideas and concepts are the fundamental support for a effective learning.

First of all, learning facts are important, but more important is to know how this facts are produced and why. This previous analysis in the context of a subject would bring the holistic comprehention of a phenomeno in all its steps. To illustrate this claim let's consider a mathematic's formula that can calculate a physical phenomena like throughing a ball in a space and distance proposed. Clearly, the student can memorize the formula and apply it every time he or she wants to calculate distances or force applied, but he or she needs to understand what is behind the formula, the idea o concept, to apply it correctly. On the other way, the student could use the same formula to calculate density or gravidity or anything else that has nothing to do with throughing an object.

Additionally, students can find easier to remember facts if they know previouly the idea o concepts that sustains those facts. For example, going back to the mathematic 's formula, it would be easier for a student to remember the different elements of the formula if he or she knows the concept of the equation he or she is using for calculate distant or force.

Finally, facts along does not mean anything without an idea or a concept that can connect those fact into a thesis or a propose of thesis. For instance, students can not analyse any fact without the correct association to something else bigger than the facts itself.

In summary, considering the three reasons explained above I strongly agree with the statement proposed.