TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most countries government of suggestion to their people to have a nuclear family- father, mother, one or two children. As they are suggesting, there must be some advantageous reasons behind this approach. The causes, I believe, are due to increase in job opportunities, awareness level, need for migration.

At first, during early period, most of people rely on agriculture and local occupation for livelihood, so they have to migrate rarely. However, nowadays, due to increase in job opportunities and career development and urbanization, dependence on agriculture have been faded and people have to migrate often; thus, this makes a bigger family very cumbersome to move because various members of family may have to move in diverse direction for their own goal fulfillment. For instance: in Butwal, when my grandfather was a child, his whole family was primarily dependent on agriculture and rarely on out-side sources. So the whole family member used to live making a joint family. however, mine both father and uncles have single family because they are encumber at various places.

Second, in ancient age, there were not any technological inventions. All the basic needs were prepared by their family members, leading to need of numerous family member. For example, in early age, when our father was child, each family member were assigned to different works- cooking, looking after cattle, fetching water, carpentering. Even my father says that even though, there were around 15 member in a house, they were always busy, always unable to finish work leisurely. However, in today's ages, our necessities can be purchased in store, our ablution are made easier my invention of washing machine and vacuum cleaner.

Third, at present, most of people are aware, they mostly want to kill their time in peace, in loneliness. So most of the parent's give birth to single or double child so they can spend most of their time in their own occupation. Therefore, having a joint family may stripped the member privacy or peace, because there will always be someone to hang around.

Finally, with the modernization, joint family have become burdensome to most family member and single family approach render various types of benefit useful in contemporary era.