TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the rapid development of the human society, consanguinity is gradually neglected by some people since they can support themselves without relying on their relatives, and such preference could be attributed to several Industrial Revolutions. However, I think extended family is as important now as it was in the past for all concerned.

The foremost reason is that people can get support from their extended family, both financially and mentally. My relatives are the ones who encourage me. They always favor me not only because we share the same family name, but also because they wish me a better life. They are extremely proud of and honored by my accomplishments and little progresses. Furthermore, they are sometimes more selfless than my friends. I was so moved that my aunt aided me financially when I had a difficulty with my tuition fee, although she's not rich enough to send his son to a private university.

In addition to the importance of getting support from extended family, the extended family is the one that has been accompanying me since my childhood. Certainly, it is not easy for some people to communicate with their grandparents especially when they become a young adult, and they tend to hold parties with their peers rather than chat with their extended family. However, I think it would be fair to say that grandparents also nurture us to some extent. These days young parents struggle to work to earn their living and give their children a better future, thus decreasing their time with their kids. Under this circumstance, asking the baby's grandparents for help is a good choice. I can recall going to the kindergarten together with my cousin, hand in hand, led by our grandparents. It was also our grandmother who always bought us our favorite candies while taking us home. I really had a good time being accompanied by my extended family, which is so memorable to me.

Finally, the extended family does not necessarily mean that they care about me less than my parents. Although some of my relatives do not live together with me, they are concerned about me in various ways. Hence, I do not think it is necessarily fair to claim that just because they are not my immediate family, they are somehow unable to care for me. In fact, my relatives do care about me a lot. By way of example, my grandparents send me messages about healthy lifestyles regularly through Facebook, and my uncle sent me a MacBook as a gift when I entered university.

By way of conclusion, it is the necessity to visit and support our extended family as much as we can since our relatives are more important than we think.