TPO-14 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling is the most enriching activity a person can practice. It is always joyful to travel in your country and around the world. Now concerning the given statement: “People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries,” I disagree.

First, although it is important for people to know their country first, such as its culture, it is also important to know cultures of other countries. I will give an example of my own experience. I moved to Australia seven years ago. I used to live in Argentina, an amazing country located in Latin America, whose culture is very different from Australian's. It was a great shock culture when I first came here since I did not know anything about Australian culture. If I had had the opportunity to travel before, I would have realized how different these countries are from each other. In other words, now I know from my own experience that it is mandatory to know the culture of the place you will live before you move in order not to get surprised.

Second, when you travel to foreign countries you have the opportunity to know different perspectives of life that maybe you have not considered before. I will give an example that illustrates this very well. My friend Mery has travelled around the world since she had twenty years old. Now that she is almost forty, she has visited more than eleven countries. During these years she has collected several friends that taught her significant lessons. She now knows how to appreciate the experience of life in a different way. She has learned how to find the positive side of every problem she copes with. The local people she knew during her trip to Africa were people who even though suffered hunger, they were very happy. They had a very strong mind to overcome those serious difficulties.

In conclusion, life is more interesting when you can travel around the world. The lessons you can learn from people you know during trips are precious as well as their cultures.