tpo-17: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The science of marketing has seen major advancements in the recent decades due to the industrial revolution and mass production. Many new items have been developed and needed to be introduced to their target customers. As a result, commercial advertisements are around us everywhere. Big billboards on the freeway, phone calls, TV shows dedicated to certain merchandise and most importantly online ads. However, the question usually arises among consumers about whether or not the information presented in commercials are accurate or a little exaggerated than reality. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that advertisements often depict goods better than they actually are. I feel this way for reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, it's much easier than before to create unrealistic designs using technology such as photo and video editing applications. Thus, companies are encouraged to allure purchasers by how their product is unique and better than other competitors. My roommate experience is a compelling example on what I mean. As we were moving in our new apartment, he needed some drawers for his clothes. Hence, the first thing I advised him to do is to look up online on this extra popular website where prices are even lower than department stores and they offer free delivery on most of the products. Consequently, my friend found it a good idea to do that. After browsing through many webpages, he landed on one item which was affordable and appeared of genuine quality in the pictures. Nevertheless, when we received the delivered package, it turned out that the images did not reflect the actual size for the set. Therefore, we had to return the item back to the company since it was very tiny and it was not convenient to keep any clothes in it. This incident illustrate how firms employ new visual techniques just to attract more buyers.

Secondly, no laws that prohibit organizations from representing misinformation about their products or services. In addition, corporations depend on fine print to deceive viewers. Besides, desguising product details in lengthy contracts that no one has time to read and understand. For instance, wireless companies may advertise how their connection is faster than others, but in order to get the fastest service, you have to pay more. what's more, they can also hide that during peak hours the speed would go down unless the customer ask. Had the government enacted rules to force these businesses to stick to what they say in the commercial, people would have never fallen into these traps.

To conclude, I agree with the statement that traders would take every chance to have their product look better than any other competitor utilizing technology However if legislators take action and pass legislation to stop dishonesty about the advertised goods costumers would get a better picture of what they are buying.