TPO 18 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Adolescence is a crucial time that shapes their personalities and interests, which has long-term impacts on students. Because they spend most of the time at schools during this transition from childhood to adulthood, students develop not only their knowledge but also their perspectives through interacting with their friends and teachers. I believe that students are significantly influenced both by their teachers and by their friends. However, both influences on students depend on how much time they share with the students and how close they are to the students. Considering a wide variety of students’ backgrounds and school experiences, I believe it is unable to conclude who has more influence on students most, their teachers or friends.

First, the more time with their friends, the more influential they are to students. Some students like to hang out with friends while others prioritize spending time alone or their family. I think extrovert students are more likely to spend time with their friends while introverted students prefer to read or study by themselves. Depending on their personalities, the students undergo different experiences with their friends, which leads to various impacts on the students.

Second, in addition to their personalities, the students are affected in different ways by different types of parenting styles. Under the authoritative parents who eager to involve too much in children’s education and social life, the children would become more timid or recalcitrant to any adults including parents and teachers. By contrast, other parents are more willing to understand and respond to children’s concerns and future aspirations through dialogue, which helps children to develop higher social skills and self-confidence. Likewise, differences in parenting styles translate to the adolescent development that models both positive and negative behaviors for communicating with others outside their homes.

Third, whether teachers can influence students depends on if they can build close relationships through working together. For example, some students are more open to teachers about asking questions about classes. Besides, clubs and extracurricular activities can provide opportunities to build stronger teacher-student relationships. However, other students are not interested in participating in those activities and neglect to reach out to teachers. Because of generational differences, students and teachers have trouble overcoming differences in communication styles and perspectives. Therefore, the teachers vary their influences on students, depending on their efforts and circumstances to cultivate the emotional connections with the students.

In conclusion, the students undergo diverse experiences of school life due to their personalities, their parents, and their willingness to connect with teachers. Because students do not have the same occasions to interact with friends and teachers, it is difficult to determine what influence the students the most. Therefore, I believe the greatest impact on students relies on who they spend the most time with.