TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers have always been an important part of society, and in many cultures they are highly respected. People look at them with admiration because they are responsible for teaching and influencing generations of youngster. I agree that teachers influence students more than their friends do, because teachers provide a lot of valuable information and because they are worth of students' respect. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

First and foremost, teachers assimilate a lot of precious knowledge along their career, because they prepare themselves continuously. Their preparation does not end the moment they graduate university, but they continue their learning process throughout their lives by reading new studies, going to courses, participating in researches and projects. Therefore, they are very well-prepared and students are aware of this. As a consequence, they value their teachers, considering them role models and take advantages of what they can offer every time they can. Whereas, friends can not give any plus to a student's self growth. For instance, back in my college I had a favorite professor. I like his courses because the classes were based on interaction, communication and a lot of practical activities. He was always introducing us new concepts and interesting facts, making us to never want skip his class. One day, one of my friends proposed me to go to a hiking trip, assuring me that it will be and exciting experience. Even though it seems and an adventurous idea, I preferred to attend my favorite professor's class. I could have missed anything from the quintessential facts he would presented.

Second, due to their experience, career and status, students tend to respect their professors. Everybody has to admit that being a professor is not an easy job, mainly because their responsibility is enormous. Professors have to teach thousands of students, and they must take into account that those students represent the future of the community. It is quite stressful to do this, when thinking that a poor education may lead them to a insecure future. For instance, as a child I was told that I should listen to my professors because they are a essential part of the community. Moreover, they were presented as people who have a plethora of information, and that it was my duty to listen to them and to try to get as much as possible from them. As a consequence, my respect for them has constantly increased, making me to believe that their teachings and advice are more valuable than of others' people.

To summarize, students are definitely more affected by their professors then by their friends. This is due to the fact that teachers are one of the most significant branch of world, and because they are preparing whole generations of students for being successful. Parents also contributes to this by instilling their off-springs that teachers are worth of being respected.