Your school has enough money to purchase either computers for students or books for the library. Which should your school choose to buy – computers or books? Use specific reasons and examples to support your recommendation.

The power of information has influenced the process of development through the time. One may say that schools should have large libraries, whereas others may consider that computers are more relevant for the present realities. If my school has to opt between these two, I would really support the latter solution due to the fact that computers can provide a large amount of actualized information and because it preserves the natural resources. I will explain my statement in detail, in the following essay.

First, a computer with Internet connection can provide all kind of knowledge. There are plenty sites that offer online books, videos with educational content, researches and studies that cover a great variety of fields. Having computers means unlimited access to the same information founded in books, and moreover to newly-acquired knowledge. Not to mention that most of those sites are free of charge. My experience is a compelling example. Back in college, when I was writing my final paper, I used my computer in order to look for relevant information. My paper was about the conditions a country should fulfill for becoming a member of the European Union. I have also bought an expensive book about this topic, but it came up that a part of the content was out-of-date. Thus, since the original content can not be updated, the book became irrelevant for the future, it became a waste of paper. Instead, official sites and public reviews, provided the things I need to know and notified me when new laws were adopted.

Second, computers are a viable solution to protect the environment. The book industry supposes massive deforestation, billions of trees being cut down annually to serve this purpose. If in the past there was no other option than using raw materials for passing the information from one generation to another, nowadays we are living another reality, surely a better one. Therefore, we have no excuse to not embrace the digital era we live in, and to not benefit from its advantages. In addition, it is essential to mention, that most of the books end in the trash bin or in the fire. For instance,during childhood, I had many story books which did not survive through the time. They got old, disintegrated, full with bacteria, in other words they become garbage.

To summarize, schools should totally abandon buying books, and redirect their efforts to purchase technology. Using computers is more advantageous because the knowledge provided is both academic and factual, and because it protects our forests from being destroyed.