Some students prefer to study alone. Others prefer to study with a group of student. Which do you prefer ? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During the last century, the number of people who chose to study has increased considerably. There is a wide variety of methods that help students to reach their maximum potential. Some of them prefer study groups, others prefer individual study. As far as I am concerned, the latter choice works better for me. I will explain my choice in detail, in the following essay.

To start with, I really believe that studying groups are quite distracting. When people gather together, their tendency is to gossip or to discuss irrelevant topics. They can easily loose their concentration and transform the study meeting into a leisure one. Moreover, there might be some students who cannot understand the lessons and, consequently they might start asking a tone of questions. These kind of situations do not allow the others to advance in their study, making them to loose precious time. For instance, when I was in college I tried to study with some of my colleagues, but each time we ended by discussing anything else but our lessons. Furthermore, when we were finally trying to concentrate on our studying subjects, there was always one individual who was asking plenty of useless questions. He was too lazy to read anything by himself and he was expecting us to explain him the lesson in detail.

Secondly, independent study is more efficient and effective. You do not have to leave your house and spend time, energy and money on the road. I can concentrate better when I am not interrupted by external factors and I can study at any hour I wish. I can speak from my personal experience. When I was twenty, I used to wake up at 6 A.M. in order to study. It was the best moment of day for me to achieve information. I do not know why, but when studying early in the morning, I could memorize twice more information than usual.

All in all, I would definitely prefer to study by myself rather than joining a study group. This is because when people come together they end by discussing daily topics and because when I am alone I can study at any hour I want.