Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Watching television is bad for children. Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

Television has considerable developed during the last fifty years. It broadcasts a large variety of programs, both for adult and children. I do not agree with the statement that television is bad for children. This is due to the the fact that it provides lots of educative shows and because it is a way of entertainment. I will explain my reasons, in detail, in the following essay.

First and foremost, programs for children are rich in educative content. By watching cartoons, children are gaining a lot of valuable information, in a funny and pleasant way. Moreover, it is a successful method to drag the attention of those who do not like to study using traditional methods. At the present time, there are thousands of cartoons, on thousands of topics. By the time kids go to school, they will have already accumulated a lot of significant knowledge and a large vocabulary. Not to mention that, these are so interesting that even adults enjoy watching them. My experience is a compelling example of this. I have a nephew who is four years old, and, of course, who loves watching cartoons. When I visit him, I often watch cartoons with him. I realized that much of the presented facts were not available when I was his age. I actually learned about them much more later, when I was a teenager. So, television is beneficial from the educative point of view.

To continue with, television is a good method to keep the children both entertained and busy. Unfortunately, parents cannot spend all their time playing and doing fun activities with their off-springs, because they have to go to work or deal with daily chores. Therefore, television is a good tool to keep them occupied. For instance, my brother and my sister-in-law have different work schedules, and there are moments when only one of them is at home. When this happens, there is no other person who could take care of my nephew while one of them prepares the meal, does the laundry and so forth. During this time, my nephew watches television, mostly cartoons. Thus, it is a activity which keeps him busy, preventing him from making wrongdoings.

To summarize, television is not harmful for children. This is because it offers numerous opportunities for kids to learn new things and because it assures nice entertainment for them.