TOEFL essay: Some students prefer to study alone. Others prefer to study with a group of student. Which do you prefer ? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Essay topics

Studying is a fundamental task for students to get good grades on their subjects. Every student has a different way of studying. Some students feel that they will learn more effectively while they are studying alone whereas others think the opposite. I am of the opinion that both ways have their advantages and I am going to argue them in the following essay.

To begin with, one advantage of studying with a group is that you do not have to bear the whole task or assignment. Since the whole duty is shared by the members of the group, it becomes easier than studying alone. By this way, each people can more concentrate on their part. Take my style of preparing for exams as an example. At the university, my exams were so hard that it was impossible to get a good grade by studying alone. So, we would study as a group and share the topic so that every member can specialize in that part. In the end, each member would lecture their parts to the others. By this way, we could learn more effectively without getting exhausted.

Furthermore, studying with a group provides members with an opportunity to learn more information than studying alone. Usually, members of the group make a decision after many arguments. In the decision-making process, they gain new points of view by discussing with others. For example, we were demanded to make a presentation of economic conditions in Turkey with my friends in front of the classroom as a group. So, I was bad at the economy and could not make any contribution to the presentation. Fortunately, one of my friends was interested in economic issues so; I, like other members of the group, was enlightened by his knowledge and learned new information on that subject.

On the other hand, studying alone is more beneficial and preferable in some cases. Some assignments or subjects require more concentration and to think deeper. So; being alone and listening to only your mind may be more effective. For example, in high school, I had to write a paper about friendship. Our teacher allowed us to make a group of 2 or 3 people. Some of my friends thought that it was easier and productive to write many ideas but I felt opposite because I thought that it was hard to state your feelings since studying with a group might prevent you to listen to your mind. It was about our feelings and should also be pure. In the end, my essay was the best because I was able to dive into my inner world.

To sum up, I believe that both ways of studying have their advantages depending on different situations. The most important thing is which one is suitable for you.