TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling has always been considered as one of the most exciting and intellectual activities by people. Tourism has become a global sector so; most countries invest money in touristic facilities in order to attract people around the world. Some people enjoy traveling alone whereas others are of the opinion that traveling with a group led by a tour guide is more reasonable and enjoyable for some reasons. I, however, believe that both of those ways of traveling have advantages, which I am going to explore in the following essay.

First off, if you decide to travel with a group led by a tour guide, you do not have to do research before the trip. The tour guide will inform you about crucial facts and information about everything such as artifacts, buildings or the history of the city. Once, I joined a Bursa trip arranged by my department at the university. Although I heard that a tour guide was going to accompany us, I read many articles about the history of the city. I supposed that I had learned everything about Bursa in theory, I was surprised as I discovered new information while the guide was explaining its history. I believe that a tour conductor can give you more comprehensive information and gratify your curiosity.

Moreover, this way of traveling could make your trip more effective in terms of time efficiency. If you are single, you have to identify the destinations before the trip. You had also better calculate the estimated time of spend at each destination. On the other hand, all of these kinds of details are usually organized by tour guides. They know where to take a break, where to eat or which places are worth visiting. For example, I could visit more places during my İstanbul journey led by a guide, in comparison with my first visit. I was also mistaken by reading comments on restaurants and waste my money paying for tasteless meals. I can easily say that if people have limited time, this way of traveling is better for them.

On the other hand, traveling alone may be a preferable choice in some cases. You may not be dependent on other people and may want to savor the atmosphere of the environment. Take my Edirne trip as an example. I visited there three times, the first two were with a group and at the last one, I was alone. During the first two, I had learned much information and details about its history so; I preferred to visit alone for the third times. Since I had enough money to stay there for two days, I had sufficient time to visit freely and could enjoy taking great photos of fascinating places with my DSLR camera. I could also dive into details and observe the architecture quality of some artifacts and buildings.

To put it all in a nutshell, both ways of traveling have positive or negative sides. The answer to which one is better depends on people and situations. People should evaluate which one is proper for them and enjoy visiting new places.