Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Telling the truth has always been a debatable topic because it directly affects relationships. In my opinion, lying instead of telling the truth has many benefits for friendships but, could sometimes be a better choice. I am going to support my opinion with two main arguments in the following essay.

First of all, telling little lies may help people feel better. Somebody who is unhappy or obsessed with his or her body or appearance could always complain about this. In such a situation, you could tell a lie to make that person feel happier. For instance, I had a friend obsessed with his appearance. He did not like his look when he was in puberty and he got depressed because of that. He wanted a date with a girl but had no courage to ask her out. I knew that the only thing he needed was self-confidence. That was the reason why I insistently told him he was handsome so that he get rid of his depressing thoughts about his self-image. In the end, he believed me and gained self-confidence. That is why I feel that white-lies are sometimes helpful.

Secondly, telling little lies called white lies may strengthen the ties between couples. People want to hear nice things even if they are not true. They usually avoid the harsh truths which make them sorrowful. It is a widely known fact that paying people compliments leads them to think the person who praises is kind and that intensifies couples' or friends' emotional bonds. I am going to illustrate this with an example of mine. My friend, whom I mentioned above, loved a girl so much when we were at university but they broke up because he hurt her feelings. What I did was lying to his girlfriend saying that my friend was very sorry for upsetting her although he was not. She was very happy to hear nice words from him that I conveyed. After thinking her boyfriend felt sorry, she decided to forgive him. That is how I solved this problem by telling little lies.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that telling the truth is not always the right solution. Unless your lies are significant or affect people negatively, they may have a more positive influence on one's relationship.