Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Technology has constantly been improving our living standards. It facilitates most part of our lives. Gaining information has been changed with the invention of the internet. Before the internet, people used traditional sources such as printed books and articles. Today, the internet has various advantages such as easy and expeditious access to information and including broad contents. I am going to explain these advantages in the following paragraphs from my point of view.

First of all, the most important advantage of the internet is that it provides easy and quick access to information. Previous to the internet, people had to go to libraries or different places to gain information or do research. But today, they can access to great amount of pieces of information from their houses by sipping their coffees. They just need to type a few words on Google and all information is one click away. So, they spend less time than before for doing research by using the internet. I am going to exemplify this with my own experience. When I was at the university, I had to do my final project and I needed a lot of sources. I cannot imagine how it would be if the internet had not existed. I did not go anywhere and spent less time to compile all the information what I needed.

Secondly, another advantage of the internet is that it includes boundless information. Most printed books can easily be found on the internet as an electronic book. Today, many people use electronic devices to read books because these devices provide the opportunity to carry a lot of books without bothering. Moreover, the internet is able to store millions or billions of books, articles or different sources and they are available to the public. Therefore, people prefer to use it and are able to reach different kinds of sources which have not printed and find more what they want to.

Thirdly, when you want to learn or search for something, you have to read the whole book but, by using the internet, you can find what exactly you want. In addition, if some information is proved wrong, it is very easy to change it on the internet in a few seconds but it may take so long to change it on the books. Using the internet is also beneficial for the brain. It is very interesting that according to scientists, searching on the web or scanning the information improves brain capacity far more than reading books and is similar to completing puzzles.

To sum up, the internet is better than books or articles to do research because it allows people to get more information quickly as well as other benefits.