TPO-26 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific re

Nowadays job plays a key role in our life. After either graduation from high school or university, people are usually engaged in one occupation for the rest of their life until they get retired. Therefore, choosing a career is essential for a happier life. Some may support the idea that it is better to choose similar jobs with that of parents whereas, I hold the opposite idea that choosing your desired job is always better. I shall discuss the underlying reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, everyone may have a different interest, personality or ideology. Therefore, choosing a job according to their characteristics and joys is more reasonable. For instance, one of my friend's father who is a doctor had always been pushed my friend to be a doctor. Then, he passed the university exam and was accepted a medical department. Unfortunately, he gave up studying medicine because could not enjoy life by doing a job that he did not desire. Another example is from my life. I have always wanted to be a soldier since my childhood and pursue my dream as much as I could. Conversely, my father would recommend me to be an accountant like him. Thus, he could help me to find a job easily. I, however, decided to be an officer and succeed it. Now, I am really happy about doing this job.

Secondly, economic conditions and some developments may change trends in business life. Some occupations, sometimes, may be popular and demand more employees and another time, they might lose their attractions. For instance, the nursery was not as popular as it is now in a decades ago. The government built plenty of hospitals and make the health sector alive. Therefore, the nursery became a prestigious and popular job. Many young adults wanted to be a nurse rather than choosing their dreams since it offered plenty of social and economic benefits. Another example is about aviation. There is a high amount of demands to the pilots and, Turkish Airlines, which is a flag carrier of Turkey, offers Turkish citizens an opportunity to become a pilot. After being successful in the whole process of becoming a pilot, most people are willing to leave their job in order to join Turkish Airlines. To my way of thinking, in such cases, it is better to choose trend jobs rather than choosing jobs either similar to your parents' job or your dream job.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that it is not important to have a job that is similar to that of your parents. I believe that people should consider their personality, interest, and dreams while choosing their job. This way, they could get gratified from their occupation.