TPO-20 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being a successful person is a dream of all people since it offers many opportunities such as better career, higher salary or etc. There are, of course, plenty of components to reach success. Some people believe that you should have adequate knowledge to be successful whilst others claim that taking risks and trying new things are the key elements of reaching it. To my way of thinking, people should try new things and if it is necessary, take risks besides knowing how to do. In this essay, I will explain my reasons by supporting compiling examples.

To begin with, there are countless people who are professional and specialized in their areas so; the competence is harsh and the chance of getting ahead of them is pretty low. One of the most exciting things about the technology and development era is that either related to your field or not, there are countless new fields emerging day by day so; you can be one of those who try to make a career on one of them. For example, there are already a lot of car brands that have been in the market for years with great experiences. It is nearly impossible to make room for you among them. But the idea of the car working with electric power is a new idea and most of the current car brands using fossil fuel have not made an investment yet. I would like to mention Elon Musk who is one of the most successful entrepreneurs. He made investments in this field and worked hard. The result is that he leads the electric car industry and produces the best automobile in the world, which is Tesla.

But trying new things, sometimes, might not be enough to reach the success. You should make more than that and if it is necessary, take a risk. When we look at the most successful people, we can see that they accepted every horrible result of taking risks and went on. Instead of mentioning worldwide famous businessmen, I will tell the success story of Nusret who is a famous butcher and a boss of steakhouse chains. He grew in a poor family and had to leave the school in order to support his family financially. He has a dream of opening his own restaurant. Unfortunately, it was nearly impossible to open a restaurant without sufficient finance and having knowledge. He took the risk and decided to work at famous restaurants in different part of the world and improve his skills in that field without getting money for that. When he returned back to his own country, he opened his own business by borrowing money from his friend. There was a chance of being wiped away from the market but he took all the risks again. The result is that many famous people around the world, even the king of a country, go to his restaurants to eat. What I am saying is sometimes taking risk is necessary with knowledge.

To sum up, I believe that people should try new thing and take a risk to be successful. Sometimes there is no chance to do everything but taking a risk and sometimes, you may need to find a new field to make progress and be successful. People should not think just knowing how to do is enough for this.